on Easter

Anne Ryan Dempsey guest blogs and beautifully shares in words and photos the rebirth and life that comes with Easter. Please check out her website at http://anneryandempsey.com/ to see more of her writings and photos. Enjoy!

Anne Ryan Dempsey

On the third day He rose from the dead and the world comes back to life as well. How beautiful that we prepare to celebrate the Resurrection when nature resurrects, too.

Today as I was sitting in my car lugging out the groceries I glanced at my just now burgeoning flower bed and noticed the leaves on my rose bush were turning red. I know little about gardening and my mother knows much, so I dialed her quick to ask:

“Mom, the leaves on my roses are turning red. Is that normal? Are they dying?”

“No,” she replied. “They’re preparing to bloom.”

12722123_10102493598221528_776080999_n

As I hung up,  I began to think of Good Friday and how His blood ran red down the wooden cross of my salvation–the Creator of roses with thorns pierced into His brow–and like the leaves, all turned red before life bloomed beautiful.

12380139_10102493690336928_1917307081_n

It’s as if Good Friday is…

View original post 120 more words

Leave a Reply

